The GSES Score

Why is the GSES Score needed?

Consumers, businesses and governments pay more and more attention to the sustainability of products and services. However, when deciding on purchases, consumers and other decision makers are having a hard time comparing their options. The GSES Score provides them with an easy-to-understand rating and enables them to compare impact of products, services and even entire organizations. That way companies that provide products and services will be encouraged to become ecologically – and socially responsible.

Needless to say, the GSES Score is an excellent tool that empowers sustainable procurement in supply chains when comparing options and during an RFP or Tender request.

What is the GSES Score?

The GSES Score is based on the ubiquitous Global Sustainable Enterprise System (GSES), which aligns more than 550 sustainability certifications and labels based on international accepted guidelines and standards. This means the GSES Score represents all kinds of available certifications and labels, translated into one global standard. Rewarding you for your sustainability achievements so far. This standard is expressed in a score with a range from 0 to 5. Score 5 being the highest possible rate. The score will be published on the GSES Platform. Business and other organizations can advertise the score on packaging, in POS, on e-commerce platforms, in commercials, etc. Making sustainability a reason to buy and creating insights on where there is room for improvement.

How does it work?

The universal language of the GSES Score can be applied on several levels:

  1. Organization or process
  2. Product, service or project

The GSES Score for organizations and processes is powered by the Global Sustainable Enterprise System (GSES). The system is based on the Global Reporting Initiative (GRI) and ISO High Level Structure (HLS) and in compliance with UN Global Compact, OECD Guidelines and the Responsible Business Alliance.

On organizational level a GSES Score comprises six blocks:

  1. Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR)
  2. Social Responsible Procurement (SP)
  3. CO2 Reduction (CO2)
  4. Circular Economy (CE)
  5. Health & Safety (HS)
  6. Biodiversity (BD)

Each block can be verified to obtain a certificate. To this end, each block must meet the benchmark and have a minimum score of 50%. A GSES block certificate, a partial certification, is issued by an independent Certification Institute and is valid for three years. Organizations can choose with which of the blocks they want to start. The organization itself determines the pace and degree of completeness in which the framework of GSE Score is applied.

The GSES Score on product, service or project level consists of three blocks, being three types of international footprint standards:

  1. Carbon footprint
  2. Circular footprint
  3. Health footprint

The Social footprint can be conducted on product level, however the result will not be processed in the rating. It does provide valuable information on the GSES Scorecard, which can be securely accessed in your GSES account.

More extensive descriptions of these standards can be found on our designated page about international footprint standards.

For further information about the steps in order to obtain a verified score, please visit the more GSES Explained page or contact one of our offices.